Martin

Martin
MartinDISECUPRO agent and IT security expert

Martin’s character in the novel

Martin is an IT expert and resident smartass. But don’t be filled by the quips: he takes his job seriously.

His latest mission seems relatively low-key. Posing as one half of Team ‘Just Married’, his objective is to ensure that Andrej’s technology survives the expedition intact.

But will the proximity to his ‘wife’ Magali and the imminent infatuation complicate matters?

Professionally it shouldn’t be a problem, but on a personal level you can never be too sure.

  • Ironist but a cast-iron romantic at heart?
  • The second time he has been paired with Magali on a mission
  • Sometimes a kid but an expert in business who can’t be kidded
  • Doesn’t always say the right thing
  • But always gets the job done right
Ralf-Martin Tauer
Ralf-Martin TauerIT Expert and Business Developer

Martin in real life

His humor is as dry as champagne and his enthusiasm as spark(l)ing. Friends appreciate his helpfulness and his sunny soul.

As it happened, Martin took part in WAVE Trophy 2013 as “Team Just Married” with his former wife Magali. He was accompanied by a loyal drone that, at his skillful hands, produced fantastic aerial photos of the expedition – mentions of a “bathroom break” at Albula Pass will get insiders in fits.

Martin’s toy provided various inspiration for the story, just like he himself. Many scenes with him in the novel, including the one with firefighters on the way to Weissensee, are genuine. Being the undisputed IT specialist he is, Martin immediately knew what was going on. But we’ll come to that later.

At home, the IT specialist gets the upper hand of him, especially when it comes to smart energy usage. Think of any device or appliance that can be hacked. It’s quite possible that he’s done some magic to control them automatically, and because he knows that music makes the world go round he’s not even stopping at coupling their featured task with his favorite tracks.

In business, Martin is a graduate economist who’s made a mark in business development at various stations. He advises internationally acting companies in strategic or technical projects on cybercrime, ethics and compliance issues and of course on IT security; particularly in the area of Internet of Things and sustainability.

He also has some tips for private users in store:

Buy a lot of things offline at the shop around the corner. Pay with cash and avoid loyalty programs such as Payback, iGraal, webmiles or other discount or club portals. However, these portals are mainly interested in aggregating data of people who work for big firms and buy or book for entire departments as evaluating this data allows portals to draw conclusions on the travel behavior of their corporate clients.

Turn off the geo-location function when using Google. Check all the privacy settings in Facebook on a regular basis.

When using external WLANs, make sure to connect to the individual sites via an encrypted browser page. If this is not possible, do not use the WLAN. It pays to keep the antivirus program on my home PC up-to-date. Investing in tools like Bitdefender or Kaspersky won’t hurt you as much as a security breach can.

Since 2008, Martin has been out and about electrically. That is, if we ignore the first electric vehicle he built when he was seven. He has gained extensive experience with a variety of models. There’s little that converted cars can challenge him with since the time when windows and radios took on a life of their own.

In 2016 he organizes the northern part of WAVE Trophy, which will start in Bremerhaven, his hometown.

How could he waive that?

Why Martin jumped in with us at the deep end

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

2017-08-18T10:28:07+00:00

Martin
MartinDISECUPRO Agent und IT Sicherheits-Experte

Martins Figur im Roman

Martin ist IT Experte und ein Nerd mit nordischem Humor. Doch nur Hinterwäldler lassen sich täuschen, denn er nimmt seinen Job ernst.

Der aktuelle Auftrag scheint alles andere als kompliziert. Getarnt als frisch gebackener Ehemann im Team „Just Married“ muss er nur dafür sorgen, dass Andrejs Technologie bis zum Ende der Expedition unangetastet bleibt.

Die einzige Komplikation scheint sein Faible für seine „Frau“ Magali zu sein. Und Profis wie sie bleiben cool, lassen sich von Gefühlen nicht beeinflussen.

Doch Profis sind auch nur Menschen…

  • Gibt es so etwas wie einen ironischen Romantiker?
  • Ist schon zum zweiten Mal auf einer Mission mit Magali
  • In seiner Branche macht ihm mit Sicherheit so schnell niemand etwas vor
  • Manch einer seiner Sprüche geht daneben
  • Doch in seinem Job liegt er immer richtig
Ralf-Martin Tauer
Ralf-Martin TauerIT Experte und Business Developer

Wer Martin im wirklichen Leben ist

Sein Humor ist so trocken wie Champagner und seine Begeisterung so spritzig wie selbiger. Freunde schätzen seine Hilfsbereitschaft und sein sonniges Gemüt.

An der WAVE Trophy 2013 hat Martin tatsächlich mit seiner damaligen Frau Magali als „Team Just Married“ teilgenommen. Begleitet wurde er dabei auch von seiner ihm treu ergebenen Drohne, die sich von ihm zu fantastische Luftaufnahmen der Expedition verleiten ließ  – Insider erinnern sich mit einem Schmunzeln an eine „Pinkelpause“ am Albula-Pass.

Martins Spielzeug lieferte diverse Anregungen im Buch, genau wie er selbst. Viele seiner Szenen im Roman, darunter die mit Feuerwehr auf dem Weg zum Weissensee, sind echt. Martin als eingefleischter IT-Spezialist wusste sofort, was Sache war, doch davon später.

Zuhause gewinnt bei ihm auch oft der IT-Spezialist, besonders in Sachen Smart Energy, die Oberhand. Egal welches Gerät oder welcher Apparat. Es ist mehr als wahrscheinlich, dass er irgendeinen Software-zauber losgelassen hat, um die Geräte automatisch zu steuern. Und da mit Musik bekanntlich alles besser geht, wird die entsprechende Funktion gleich noch mit der passenden Playlist gekoppelt.

In seinem Berufsleben hat sich Martin als Diplom-Ökonom auf verschiedensten Stationen einen Namen im Bereich Business Development gemacht. Als IT-Experte berät er international agierende Firmen bei strategischen und technischen Projekten zu Cyber-Kriminalität, ethischen und Compliance-Fragen und natürlich zu IT-Sicherheit, insbesondere im Bereich Industrie 4.0 und Nachhaltigkeit.

Für den Privatanwender hat er auch einige Tipps auf Lager:

Offline einkaufen, also im Laden um die Ecke, und bar bezahlen. Portale wie Payback, iGraal, webmiles oder sonstige Rabatt- und Clubportale meiden, obwohl die Datensammelwut dieser Firmen hauptsächlich auf Personen ausgerichtet ist, die in Unternehmen für ganze Abteilungen einkaufen oder buchen.

Bei der Nutzung von Google empfiehlt er jedem, die Geo-Location (Ortungsdienst) auszuschalten. Bei Facebook ist es wichtig, alle Einstellungen zur Privatsphäre regelmäßig zu überprüfen.

In fremden WLANs am besten die einzelnen Portale über eine verschlüsselte Browserseite nutzen, sonst die Finger davon lassen. Ach ja, Virenschutz auf den privaten PC auf dem neuesten Stand halten und in ein gutes Tool wie z.B. Bitdefender, Kaspersky etc. investieren, lohnt sich immer.

Seit 2008 ist Martin elektrisch unterwegs, nimmt man sein erstes mit sieben gebautes Elektrofahrzeug mal aus. Dabei hat er mit verschiedensten Modellen so seine Erfahrungen gemacht. Von Fensterhebern und Radio lässt er sich bei Umbauten schon lange nicht mehr beirren. Da gibt es wenig, was ihm noch in die Quere kommt.

In 2016 organisiert er den nördlichen Teil der WAVE Trophy, die in Bremerhaven, seiner Heimatstadt, startet.

Wie könnte er sich das entgehen lassen?

Warum Martin mit uns ins kalte Wasser sprang